POL Government Elected Officials Commissioner Amanda Fritz Coming Down the Pike
Spirit of Portland Award nominations accepted through August 16, 2010

Spirit of Portland Award nominations accepted through August 16, 2010





Nominations are now being accepted for the 25th annual Spirit of Portland Awards. This year a new category has been added: The Sandy Diedrich award for environmental stewardship. If you know an individual or group who has helped make our city a better place to live, consider nominating them for one of the 2010 awards.

Celebrated since 1985, the award ceremony has been an important way for the city to recognize those whose volunteer efforts make a positive difference in our community. Each year there are from 20-30 winners in various categories. Although the exact date and location for this year have not been announced, the event will take place in early November and be held at a venue in the community in the evening so more people can attend.

Sandy Diedrich was founder and longtime champion of the No Ivy League.�@ For 13 years she organized thousands of volunteers to help pull English Ivy from 28,000 to 30,000 trees, mostly in Forest Park.

The new category was created by Commissioner Amanda Fritz. "Sandy Diedrich was a dedicated City employee, an inspirational teacher and mentor, and a dedicated community volunteer.�@ Kind, smart, and brave, she pioneered citizen engagement and student leadership through the manual labor of pulling ivy, and fostered a worldwide movement of community stewardship in natural areas, " she said.�@ "I am proud to dedicate a Spirit of Portland�@selection as the Sandra Diedrich Environmental Stewardship award."

Nominations are due in the Office of Neighborhood Involvement by Monday, August 16.�@

Nomination forms are available at the Office of Neighborhood Involvement, 1221 SW Fourth Ave, Room 110, Portland OR 97204, or from the seven neighborhood district offices.�@ They can also be downloaded from the web at


Spirit of Portland 2010  (www.portlandonline.com/oni).�@ 

The categories this year are:

Sandra Diedrich Environmental Stewardship

Business Association

New/Emerging Community Leader

Emergency Preparedness

Public Involvement

Community Policing/Public Safety


Independent Spirit

Community Harmony

Large Business

Small Business

Non-Profit Organization

Neighborhood Association

Outstanding Partnership

Employee of the Year

Youth Volunteer


The above awards are chosen by a Selection Committee made up of representatives from the Mayor’s and City Commissioner’s offices, the Office of Neighborhood Involvement, the Neighborhood District Coalition offices, Business Associations, non-profit community organizations and past award winners.

Nominees will be evaluated in each of the following areas:

Participation in outstanding projects

Enrichment of our community and neighborhoods

Providing a special service to the community

Demonstration of responsiveness, creativity and civic values

Raising cross-cultural awareness

The Council created additional Commissioner’s Spirit of Portland Awards in 2008. Now each commissioner, as well as the Mayor, can select an individual and a group for recognition.

More information about criteria and eligibility for each award can be found on the nominating forms. Call 503

.823.4519 for more information.

Commissioner-in-Charge of the Office of Neighborhood Involvement:


Amanda Fritzhttp://www.portlandonline.com/oni/index.cfm?c=29024