(Added by Ordinance No. 184361, effective February 11, 2011.)
A. Permit Required. No person may operate a horse-drawn carriage without a valid, current horse-drawn carriage driver’s permit issued under Chapter 16.40, except that no permit issued pursuant to this chapter is required of a person who is operating a horse-drawn carriage as an entry in a parade or otherwise permitted special event, where the horse-drawn carriage entry is specifically noted and approved in said special event permit, and where the horse-drawn carriage rides are not being offered on-demand or by reservation to members of the general public.
B. Application Documents Required. The failure to submit any required application documents as listed below is grounds for denial of the permit. It is the applicant’s responsibility to make certain that the information and forms required have been completed in full, and that there are no errors or omissions. Applicants for a horse-drawn carriage driver’s permit must submit to the Administrator the items listed below:
1. A completed application on a form provided by the Administrator;
2. Proof of current residence address;
3. Legal proof that the applicant is at least 18 years of age;
4. A copy of the applicant’s current motor vehicle driver’s license, if any;
5. A copy of the applicant’s non-Oregon driving record, if any, for any year in which the applicant was not a resident of Oregon during the last 10 years, regardless of the jurisdiction;
6. Disclosure of all applicable criminal history and driving and motor vehicle record history, as listed on the application form;
7. Certification of a horse-drawn driver training program approved by the Administrator;
8. Confirmation that the driver will be employed for a horse-drawn carriage company with current and valid horse-drawn carriage company and vehicle permits.
9. If necessary, any information requested by the Administrator that reasonably relates to the application or is a clarification of information provided.
C. Photographs. The applicant will be photographed by the Bureau after submission of the driver permit application. The photograph then becomes a part of the applicant’s submittal package.
D. Fees Required. The applicant for a horse-drawn carriage driver’s permit must submit an initial permit fee of $25, and $25 per year renewal fee.
E. Disqualifying Factors. The following disqualifying factors are grounds for denial of a horse-drawn carriage driver’s permit:
1. The applicant has a felony conviction of any kind within the 10 years preceding the application and permit processing;
2. The applicant has a felony charge pending;
3. The applicant has a felony conviction involving physical harm or attempted physical harm to a person, regardless of when the conviction occurred;
4. The applicant has a felony charge pending involving physical harm or attempted physical harm to a person;
5. The applicant has been convicted of any criminal offense involving animal cruelty or neglect, regardless of when the conviction occurred;
6. During the 5-year period preceding the application and permit processing, the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense involving:
a. any misdemeanor involving theft, identity theft, robbery, burglary, assault, sex crimes, drugs, prostitution, or weapons; or
b. any traffic crime, including but not limited to: driving under the influence of intoxicants, reckless driving, attempt to elude a police officer, or leaving the scene of an injury accident;
7. During the 5-year period preceding the application and permit processing, the applicant had 10 or more traffic infractions as defined in ORS 801.557; or three or more serious traffic violations as defined in ORS 801.477; or three or more motor vehicle accidents required to be reported to the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to ORS 811.720; or, three or more of any combination of serious traffic violations or motor vehicle accidents as provided above;
8. During the 10-year period preceding the application and permit processing, the applicant had five or more serious traffic violations as defined in ORS 801.477; or the applicant’s driving privileges were limited, suspended, or revoked by any governing jurisdiction as a result of a driving-related incident;
9. The applicant has more than two traffic infractions or violations of any kind within the previous 12 months from the date of the application;
10. The applicant has a current Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles license restriction, suspension or revocation;
11. The applicant is less than 18 years old;
12. Upon review of the applicants criminal and motor vehicle background check, and other information deemed pertinent to the application, the administrator determines that information contained in the application is false or incomplete; or
13. Review of the applicant’s traffic and criminal record, and other information the supervisor deems pertinent, is reasonable grounds for the determination that the public safety would not be served by the issuance of a driver’s permit to the applicant.
F. Driver Safety and Customer Service Training Requirements. The applicant must provide documentation of successful completion of Bureau-approved horse-drawn carriage driver training prior to issuance of a horse-drawn driver’s permit.
G. Driver Knowledge and Skills Testing Requirements. The applicant must successfully complete each of the following tests as administered by the Bureau or its designee before a permit can be issued:
1. Basic carriage horse care;
2. Demonstrate ability to operate and control a horse-drawn carriage;
3. Relevant City Code provisions and Administrative Rules.